kictanet

The case for and against #deletefacebook

Hello!

Answers below-for your first question, it’s VERY important to clarify that Facebook does not “pick up” your contacts. You have to expressly agree to upload your contacts. For example, I have never agreed to this, so my contacts have never been uploaded. If you change your mind about the permission you have given, or if you accidentally gave permission, please see below for how to opt back out. Note that this feature is “opt-in”, so express agreement is required for it to be happening.

That is the same for the photographs, so can you please clarify your question? Are you saying that you granted permission for specific photos to be posted on your page, and now you want to delete them? Facebook does not automatically upload any photographs to your page.

1. Call and text history logging is part of an opt-in feature for people using Messenger or Facebook Lite on Android. This helps you find and stay connected with the people you care about, and provides you with a better experience across Facebook. People have to expressly agree to use this feature. If, at any time, they no longer wish to use this feature they can turn it off in settings, or here for Facebook Lite users, and all previously shared call and text history shared via that app is deleted. While we receive certain permissions from Android, uploading this information has always been opt-in only.

From: Ngigi Waithaka <ngigi@at.co.ke>
Date: Tuesday, March 27, 2018 at 5:37 PM
To: KICTAnet ICT Policy Discussions <kictanet@lists.kictanet.or.ke>
Cc: Ebele Okobi <ebeleokobi@fb.com>
Subject: Re: [kictanet] The case for and against #deletefacebook

Ebele,

Good to see FB represented here.

Got two questions:
1. Supposing FB has picked up my contacts and SMS and I would like to delete any prior data that has been uploaded, how would I go about that?

2. I also noticed that when I allow FB contacts to my PhotoGallery on Android for purposes of being able to select pictures to upload, by default, it then would upload *all* new pictures taken and ask me whether I’d like to share them on my timeline.
Is there a way to also delete any such content that FB has picked from my phone and auto-uploaded?

Rgds

On Tue, 27 Mar 2018, 19:30 Ebele Okobi via kictanet, <kictanet@lists.kictanet.or.ke<mailto:kictanet@lists.kictanet.or.ke>> wrote:
This is useful context, below. Please do let me know if there are additional questions or concerns. I do appreciate how significant an issue this is, and am happy to answer questions and relay concerns internally.

newsroom.fb.com/news/2018/03/fact-check-your-call-and-sms-history/

March 25, 2018

Fact Check: Your Call and SMS History

You may have seen some recent reports that Facebook has been logging people’s call and SMS (text) history without their permission.

This is not the case.

Opt-in features in Facebook Lite and Messenger

Call and text history logging is part of an opt-in feature for people using Messenger or Facebook Lite on Android. This helps you find and stay connected with the people you care about, and provides you with a better experience across Facebook. People have to expressly agree to use this feature. If, at any time, they no longer wish to use this feature they can turn it off in settings, or here for Facebook Lite users, and all previously shared call and text history shared via that app is deleted. While we receive certain permissions from Android, uploading this information has always been opt-in only.

We introduced this feature for Android users a couple of years ago. Contact importers are fairly common among social apps and services as a way to more easily find the people you want to connect with. This was first introduced in Messenger in 2015, and later offered as an option in Facebook Lite, a lightweight version of Facebook for Android.

How it works

When you sign up for Messenger or Facebook Lite on Android, or log into Messenger on an Android device, you are given the option to continuously upload your contacts as well as your call and text history. For Messenger, you can either turn it on, choose ‘learn more’ or ‘not now’. On Facebook Lite, the options are to turn it on or ‘skip’. If you chose to turn this feature on, we will begin to continuously log this information, which can be downloaded at any time using the Download Your Information tool.

[Image removed by sender.]

If, at any point, you no longer wish to continuously upload this information, you can easily turn this feature off in your settings. You can also turn off continuous call and text history logging while keeping contact uploading enabled. You can also go to this page to see which contacts you have uploaded from Messenger, and you can delete all contact information you’ve uploaded from that app should you choose.

We never sell this data, and this feature does not collect the content of your text messages or calls

When this feature is enabled, uploading your contacts also allows us to use information like when a call or text was made or received. This feature does not collect the content of your calls or text messages. Your information is securely stored and we do not sell this information to third parties. You are always in control of the information you share with Facebook.

On Mar 27, 2018, at 3:29 PM, WANGARI KABIRU via kictanet <kictanet@lists.kictanet.or.ke<mailto:kictanet@lists.kictanet.or.ke>> wrote:
Facebook harvested phone call and text data from Android users

Facebook harvested phone call and text data from Android users

Brandon A. Weber

Have an Android phone or device? You might want to read this.

BIGTHINK might have thoughts similar to your said friend.

Facebook scraped call, text message data for years from Android phones [Updated]

Facebook scraped call, text message data for years from Android phones […

Maybe check your data archive to see if Facebook’s algorithms know who you called.

Factual or otherwise? Ars Technica makes reference to an FB rejoiner.

It should not be lost that even the most basic loyalty card is for decision making to serve you the customer better – data by the issuer.

Be blessed.

Regards/Wangari

KICTANet Admin information

Related Posts

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.