The case for and against #deletefacebook

Just seen this as well…

www.bloomberg.com/amp/news/articles/2018-03-28/facebook-updates-privacy-tools-for-better-data-control?__twitter_impression=true

Rgds

On Wed, 28 Mar 2018, 12:31 Ngigi Waithaka, <ngigi@at.co.ke> wrote:

> Ebele,
>
> If that’s the case, then I guess what they do is get a ‘screenshot’ of
> your photo and maybe *overlay* it on your newsfeed / timeline. The
> *impression* it gives you is that the photo is already uploaded…
>
> Thanks…
>
> On Wed, Mar 28, 2018 at 12:18 PM, Ebele Okobi <ebeleokobi@fb.com> wrote:
>
>>
>> Clarification-your photos are not auto-uploaded to Facebook. The app has
>> access to your photos and essentially shows you your own photo folder and
>> asks if you want to upload. Your pictures do not get uploaded to Facebook
>> until you upload them yourself.
>>
>> I do think it’s a good piece of feedback for our product teams to know
>> that a) this feature is confusing to you, and b) that showing users their
>> photos and asking if they want to upload can be off-putting/not a good
>> experience.
>>
>> Best,
>> Ebele
>>
>>
>> On Mar 28, 2018, at 10:11 AM, Ngigi Waithaka <ngigi@at.co.ke> wrote:
>>
>> Ebele,
>>
>> Thanks for your update, I will check on the contacts settings as you have
>> indicated.
>>
>> I still think though some of the choices we make are not very *clearly*
>> spelt out when we make them. For instance, I can understand the need to
>> sync my contacts, but *not* my call & sms history! And this is especially
>> so for those of use (most of us?) who use our phones for both personal &
>> official business.
>>
>> My recommendation, have at least three settings clearly indicating what
>> you would use them for, if at all!
>> 1. Sync contacts
>> 2. Sync Call records (***)
>> 3. Sync SMS & Messages (***)
>>
>> As regards the photos this is what happen(s) / happened. Normally I would
>> not give FB access to my photos.However, at some point I needed to upload a
>> certain specific photo on to some FB markets that I participate in.
>>
>> Shortly as I was still in the market and as I was scrolling though my
>> newsfeed I started seeing a number of family photos that I had taken
>> earlier, already uploaded but kind of greyed out, with FB asking me whether
>> I wanted to share them.
>>
>> That is very disconcerting!
>>
>> Again, if a user gives access to his photo library for a *single* photo,
>> that should not mean *all* my photos are auto-uploaded to FB, then FB
>> prompts me to share them…
>>
>> My recommendation would be to have at least two settings:
>> 1. Upload a single photo
>> 2. Auto- Upload *ALL* my photos
>>
>> And, I don’t consider myself a *pro* FB user, it may very well be that
>> indeed this is already covered so thanks for being our ‘customer-care’,
>> appreciate 🙂
>>
>> Regards
>>
>>
>> On Wed, Mar 28, 2018 at 11:39 AM, Ebele Okobi <ebeleokobi@fb.com> wrote:
>>
>>> Hello!
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> Answers below-for your first question, it’s VERY important to clarify
>>> that Facebook does not “pick up” your contacts. You have to expressly agree
>>> to upload your contacts. For example, I have never agreed to this, so my
>>> contacts have never been uploaded. If you change your mind about the
>>> permission you have given, or if you accidentally gave permission, please
>>> see below for how to opt back out. Note that this feature is “opt-in”, so
>>> express agreement is required for it to be happening.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> That is the same for the photographs, so can you please clarify your
>>> question? Are you saying that you granted permission for specific photos to
>>> be posted on your page, and now you want to delete them? Facebook does not
>>> automatically upload any photographs to your page.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> 1. Call and text history logging is part of an opt-in feature for
>>> people using Messenger or Facebook Lite on Android. This helps you find and
>>> stay connected with the people you care about, and provides you with a
>>> better experience across Facebook. People have to expressly agree to use
>>> this feature. If, at any time, they no longer wish to use this feature they
>>> can turn it off in settings
>>> , or here
>>> for Facebook
>>> Lite users, and all previously shared call and text history shared via that
>>> app is deleted. While we receive certain permissions from Android,
>>> uploading this information has always been opt-in only.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> *From: *Ngigi Waithaka <ngigi@at.co.ke>
>>> *Date: *Tuesday, March 27, 2018 at 5:37 PM
>>> *To: *KICTAnet ICT Policy Discussions <

KICTANet Admin information

Related Posts

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.